PAINTED LADY BUTTERFLIES

OK this hasn’t got much to do with fishing, but while ruminating on my kayak recently, waiting to catch a lunker, I couldn’t help but notice the huge number of Painted Ladies.

Of course there have been even huger numbers over land but I have been surprised to see several of these fast-flying orange butterflies zip past my kayak every minute.

They have apparently hatched out in vast hoards in The Atlas mountains and their northward migration coincided with that exceptionally warm weather (and favourable winds) last week enabling them to get across the English channel.

To demonstrate their abundance take a look at this pic I took when I ACCIDENTALLY pressed the shutter during my Lands End kayak trip last Friday.  A Painted Lady just happened to be hurtling past.

Painted Lady off Lands End
Painted Lady off Lands End

No, it’s not a kite.

Leave a Reply

